EU : Press Statement on Schengen Visa

Delegation of the European Union to Indonesia

Jakarta, 25 January 2012

Press Statement on Schengen Visa

There is good news for Indonesians travelling to many countries in Europe. The
Jakarta Embassies of countries in the Schengen visa area will now offer a much
faster service to Indonesian visa applicants. In the vast majority of cases, successful
applicants will now receive their visas within just a few working days after submitting
their passports and supporting documents. Schengen visas allow travel to 22 of the
27 EU countries, as well as some non-EU countries including Norway and

Ambassadors of these countries commented : "People-to-people links are a vital part
of the relationship between Europe and Indonesia. We are delighted to see more
Indonesians visiting our countries in recent years. With this latest reduction in
processing times, now it is even more convenient for Indonesian citizens to apply for
visas. We hope to see even closer ties in future".

The service may vary at peak times, and applicants should ask for further information
when they apply for a visa. Applications should be submitted to the Embassy of the
country which is the main destination for the trip.


Notes for editors :

The Schengen area consists of Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia,
Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania,
Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain,
Sweden and Switzerland.

Travellers intending to visit any of these countries for a short stay for the purposes of leisure,
tourism or business can apply for a visa which allows entry to all of the countries in the
Schengen area. Before applying, travellers should check that they have a valid travel
document and supporting documents as required. Further information is available from the
Embassies’ websites.

Dernière modification : 25/01/2012

Haut de page